Graduate Symposium

This symposium allows outstanding graduate students, currently enrolled in a program in the chemical sciences, to disseminate their research to the global professional community.


This symposium allows outstanding graduate students, currently enrolled in a program in the chemical sciences, to disseminate their research to the global professional community. The Division seeks papers that are relevant to industrial and engineering chemistry in general, and/or to the subdivisions within I&EC: Applied Chemical Technology (ACT) and Separation Science and Technology (SST). The Division anticipates holding one full day of presentations. Student participants will be expected to attend the symposium awards luncheon as well (at no cost to students), and their research advisors and guests are also encouraged to attend.

Questions about this symposium can be directed to the organizers using the symposium email (

Benefits and Awards

Every graduate student lead author accepted for this Symposium will be awarded an ACS members meeting registration fee, plus a ticket to the Awards Luncheon. All submissions and presentations will be evaluated by a panel selected by the Division. In addition, the first, second, and third place winners will receive monetary awards ($550, 400, and $250 respectively). To be eligible for any award, the presenter must be a student who is pursuing a graduate degree in the chemical sciences or engineering or a closely related field at the time of the symposium


Students must first input their abstracts in the ACS MAPS abstracts system by the ACS deadline, which is March 12, 2018. See to submit abstracts; the system will open on January 15, 2018. Graduate student authors must also ask their supervisors to email a brief letter of support directly to the symposium organizers ( The support letter should simply confirm that the student is currently enrolled and is the lead author responsible for the work to be presented. No further information is needed in the support letter. The support letter should be sent to by April 21, 2018. Students will be notified of their acceptance by April 28, 2018.

Past Winners

YearFirst PlaceSecond PlaceThird Place
2022Qining Wang, Northwestern, ChemistryChristopher Cooper, Stanford, Chem. Eng.(tie) Blake Rasor, Northwestern, Chem & Biological Eng. Kateryna Kostenkova, Colorado State, Chemistry
2021 Milad Zangiabadi, Iowa State, ChemistryNatalia Diaz Montenegro, U. Virginia, Chem. Eng.(tie) Robert Hurt, Cal Tech, Biology & Biological Eng. Byung Hee Ko, U. Delaware, Chem. Eng.
2020 Emily Cheng, Northwestern, Chem. Eng.Aayushi Bajpayee, Texas A&M, ChemistryAustin Evans, Northwestern, Chemistry
2019 David Mackanic, Va Tech, Chem. Eng. and ChemistryYao Ma, Ga Tech, Chem. & Biomolecular Eng.Matthew Jouny, U. Delaware, Chem & Biomolecular Eng.
2018 Ashty Karim, Northwestern, Chem. Eng.Lin Ju, Virginia Tech, ChemistryMichael Orella, MIT, Chem. Eng.
2017 No symposium this year
2016 Jovan Kamcev and Ni Yan, U. Texas, Chem. Eng.Maula (Mollie) Koehle, U. Delaware, Chem. Eng.James Sheehan, Penn State, Chem. Eng.
2015 John Rosen, U Delaware, Chem. Eng.Li Tan, MIT, Chem. Eng.Hong Je Cho, U. Mass.-Amhnerst, Chem. Eng.
2014 Mo Jiang, MIT, Chem. Eng.Kara Nell, U. Oregon, ChemistryYunqi Yang, U Washington, Chemistry
2013 Olasehinde Owoseni, Tulane, Chem. Eng.Rong Yang, MIT, Chem. Eng.Michael Stern, MIT, Chem. Eng.
2012 Milad Zangiabadi, Iowa State, ChemistryBinxing Yu, Rutgers, Materials ChemistryCory Hawkins, U Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Chemistry & Biochemistry
2011Darci Trader, Indiana U, ChemistryMichael Clark, Columbia U, Chem. EngStacey Smith, BYU, Physics and Astronomy